Thursday, 26 July 2018

THE PINK YEARS boxset - released date SEPT 28 2018

Released in September 2018 (28th), 'Pink Years' is a 4 CD Clamshell Box which gathers together the first four legendary albums by TANGERINE DREAM that were originally released on the Ohr label in Germany between 1970 and 1973. 

This Clamshell Box of 'Pink Years' features: 'Electronic Meditation', 'Alpha Centauri', 'Zeit' and 'Atem' These recordings have all been 2018 Remastered and packaged in Vinyl Replica Card Sleeves and a Poster is included in the box.

Disc 1 - 'Electronic Meditation' was recorded in Berlin in October 1969 and featured the first TANGERINE DREAM line-up of Edgar Froese (guitars / organ / tapes / sound effects), Klaus Schulze (drums / percussion) and Conrad Schnitzler (cello / violin / typewriter). Upon its release in 1970 the album would define a genre of music and herald the massive creative musical explosion that would emerge in Germany in the early 1970's.

Disc 2 - 'Alpha Centauri' was recorded at the Dierks studio in Stommeln and featured a line-up of Edgar Froese, Chris Franke and Steve Schroyder with guests Udo Dennebourg (flute) and Roland Pualyck (synthesiser). Released in 1971, the influence of this album was immense, with the band creating imaginative soundscapes previously unheard on record.

Disc 3 - 'Zeit' was released in August 1972 as a Double LP, with one lengthy track per side. This album was also recorded at the Dierks studio and featured a guest appearance by Florian Fricke of another legendary ambient German group: POPOL VUH. One of TANGERINE DREAM's finest early albums, 'Zeit' was enthusiastically championed in the UK by DJ John Peel and was the group's major breakthrough release.

Disc 4 - 'Atem' was released in 1973 and was the band's last release on the Ohr label and heralded the beginning of TANGERINE DREAM's wider international acclaim. 'Atem' enjoyed success outside of Germany and eventually led to the group signing to the newly formed Virgin label later in 1973.

Track List - Disc 1 [Electronic Meditation - 2018 Remaster]:
01. Genesis
02. Journey Through A Burning Brain
03. Cold Smoke
04. Ashes To Ashes
05. Resurrection
Track List - Disc 2 [Alpha Centauri - 2018 Remaster]:
01. Sunrise In The Third System
02. Fly And Collision Of Comas Sola
03. Alpha Centauri
Track List - Disc 3 [Zeit - 2018 Remaster]:
01. 1st Movement: Birth Of Liquid Pleijades
02. 2nd Movement: Nebulous Dawn
03. 3rd Movement: Origin Of Supernatural Probabilities
04. 4th Movement: Zeit
Track List - Disc 4 [Atem - 2018 Remaster]:
01. Atem
02. Fauni-Gena
03. Circulation Of Events
04. Wahn

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: only a member of this blog may post a comment.